Columbia College men's cross country wins conference meet

Friday, November 2, 2012 | 9:03 p.m. CDT

JEFFERSON CITY – The Columbia College men's cross-country team won the American Midwest Conference Championship meet Friday in Jefferson City. This year is the program's inaugural season.

Four male runners had Top 10 performances to edge Park University for first place in the team event. Freshman Cody Gorham placed fourth with a time of 27.10 and earned AMC Freshman of the Year.  Freshmen Cameron Schmitz (27:25), Devin Sander (27:29), and Michael McCulloch (27:46) finished fifth, sixth, and eighth, respectively.

With the victory, the men's team qualifies for the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics National Championship held in Vancouver, Wash., on Nov. 17.

The men will not be the only representatives of Columbia College at the NAIA Championship meet. Freshman Julia Montgomery will represent the women's team as an individual after the team placed fourth in the AMC meet. She qualified by placing eighth overall in the conference meet with a time of 20:08.

Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.