Three MU graduates to take oath in U.S. Senate

Monday, December 10, 2012 | 8:14 a.m. CST; updated 1:09 p.m. CST, Monday, December 10, 2012

COLUMBIA — The University of Missouri will have three graduates in the U.S. Senate for at least the next six years.

Martin Heinrich, a 1995 graduate, will represent New Mexico after being sworn in Jan. 3. He will join Gov. Tim Kaine of Virginia, who graduated from Missouri in 1979, and Claire McCaskill of Missouri, who graduated in 1975. All three are Democrats.

The Columbia Daily Tribune reported that's the largest number of U.S. senators from one state-supported school.

All three lawmakers told the newspaper their experiences at the university helped shape their attitudes as public officials.

And McCaskill said she wants to bring her two new colleagues to Columbia for a basketball game or Homecoming next fall.


Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.