No Columbia School Board election this April

Wednesday, January 23, 2013 | 4:48 p.m. CST

COLUMBIA — Because no one is challenging them, three Columbia School Board members, including appointee Darin Preis, will keep their seats on the board.

Incumbents Jan Mees and Jim Whitt will hold their seats for another three years, while Preis will finish the remaining two years on the term vacated by Paul Cushing last year.

The incumbents were the only candidates who filed by the Jan. 15 deadline.

Not holding an election will save the district about $40,000, district spokeswoman Michelle Baumstark said.

Preis, who served on the board from 2005 to 2008, was appointed on Nov. 12 after Cushing took a job out of state.

Supervising editor is Elizabeth Brixey.

Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.