You are viewing the print version of this article. Click here to view the full version.
Columbia Missourian

No Columbia School Board election this April

By GH Lindsey
January 23, 2013 | 4:48 p.m. CST

COLUMBIA — Because no one is challenging them, three Columbia School Board members, including appointee Darin Preis, will keep their seats on the board.

Incumbents Jan Mees and Jim Whitt will hold their seats for another three years, while Preis will finish the remaining two years on the term vacated by Paul Cushing last year.

The incumbents were the only candidates who filed by the Jan. 15 deadline.

Not holding an election will save the district about $40,000, district spokeswoman Michelle Baumstark said.

Preis, who served on the board from 2005 to 2008, was appointed on Nov. 12 after Cushing took a job out of state.

Supervising editor is Elizabeth Brixey.