Alabama media's overwhelming favorite to win 2013 SEC football season

Thursday, July 18, 2013 | 9:45 p.m. CDT; updated 10:49 p.m. CDT, Thursday, July 18, 2013

HOOVER, Ala. — Alabama is the overwhelming favorite to repeat as Southeastern Conference champion.

In the preseason poll released Thursday, the Crimson Tide received 182 first-place votes out of a possible 243. Georgia was picked to win the Eastern Division and was the second leading vote-getter with 38. South Carolina received 18.

Preseason All-Southeastern Conference teams

QB_Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M
RB_T.J. Yeldon, Alabama
RB_Todd Gurley, Georgia
WR_Amari Cooper, Alabama
WR_Jordan Matthews, Vanderbilt
TE_Arthur Lynch, Georgia
OL_Cyrus Kouandjio, Alabama
OL_Jake Matthews, Texas A&M
OL_Anthony Steen, Alabama
OL_Gabe Jackson, Mississippi State
C_Travis Swanson, Arkansas

DL_Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina
DL_Dominique Easley, Florida
DL_Anthony Johnson, LSU
DL_Chris Smith, Arkansas
LB_C.J. Mosley, Alabama
LB_A.J. Johnson, Tennessee
LB_Denzel Nkemdiche, Mississippi
DB_Ha Ha Clinton-Dix, Alabama
DB_Craig Loston, LSU
DB_Loucheiz Purifoy, Florida
DB_Deion Belue, Alabama

P_Kyle Christy, Florida
PK_Carey Spear, Vanderbilt
RS_Odell Beckham Jr., LSU
AP_Bruce Ellington, South Carolina

QB_AJ McCarron, Alabama
RB_Tre Mason, Auburn
RB_ * LaDarius Perkins, Mississippi State
RB_ * Keith Marshall, Georgia
WR_Donte Moncrief, Mississippi
WR_Mike Evans, Texas A&M
TE_Rory Anderson, South Carolina
OL_Antonio Richardson, Tennessee
OL_Jon Halapio, Florida
OL_Chris Burnette, Georgia
OL_Ja'Wuan James, Tennessee
C_Reese Dismukes, Auburn

DL_Xzavier Dickson, Alabama
DL_Ed Stinson, Alabama
DL_Dee Ford, Auburn
DL_Jeoffrey Pagan, Alabama
LB_Adrian Hubbard, Alabama
LB_Jordan Jenkins, Georgia
LB_Lamin Barrow, LSU
DB_Damian Swann, Georgia
DB_Andre Hal, Vanderbilt
DB_Marcus Roberson, Florida
DB_Vinnie Sunseri, Alabama

P_Cody Mandell, Alabama
PK_Cody Parkey, Auburn
RS_Bruce Ellington, South Carolina
AP_Odell Beckham, Jr., LSU

QB_Aaron Murray, Georgia
RB_ * Matt Jones, Florida
RB_ * Jeff Scott, Mississippi
RB_(asterisk)Alfred Blue, LSU
WR_Malcolm Mitchell, Georgia
WR_Jarvis Landry, LSU
TE_Brian Vogler, Alabama
OL_La'el Collins, LSU
OL_Josh Williford, LSU
OL_Wesley Johnson, Vanderbilt
OL_(asterisk)A.J. Cann, South Carolina
OL_ * Zach Fulton, Tennessee
C_ * James Stone, Tennessee
C_ * Jonotthan Harrison, Florida

DL_Garrison Smith, Georgia
DL_Daniel McCullers, Tennessee
DL_Alvin Dupree, Kentucky
DL_C.J. Johnson, Mississippi
LB_Ronald Powell, Florida
LB_Tahj Jones, LSU
LB_ * Trey DePriest, Alabama
LB_ * Avery Williamson, Kentucky
DB_E.J. Gaines, Missouri
DB_Charles Sawyer, Mississippi
DB_Jalen Mills, LSU
DB_Chris Davis, Auburn

P_Steven Clark, Auburn
PK_Zach Hocker, Arkansas
RS_Andre Debose, Florida
AP_Loucheiz Purifoy, Florida

* Denotes ties

Related Articles

Alabama received 1,681 points to lead the Western Division, followed by Texas A&M (1,333), LSU (1,324), Mississippi (883), Auburn (579), Mississippi State (516) and Arkansas (488). Following Georgia (1,570) in the East are South Carolina (1,474), Florida (1,300), Vanderbilt (858), Tennessee (694), Missouri (577) and Kentucky (331).

The leading vote-getters on the All-SEC preseason team are Alabama linebacker C.J. Mosley, who earned 231 out of 243 votes, followed by South Carolina defensive lineman Jadeveon Clowney at 223. The poll is voted on by media covering the SEC.

Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel, who last season became the first freshman to win the Heisman Trophy, earned just 119 out of 243 votes in a deep league for quarterbacks. Alabama's AJ McCarron received 67 votes, and Georgia's Aaron Murray got 52.

Alabama led the SEC with seven first-team selections, including four on offense and three on defense.

Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.