Southeastern Conference announces new postseason bowl plans

Monday, August 12, 2013 | 8:03 p.m. CDT; updated 8:26 p.m. CDT, Monday, August 12, 2013

COLUMBIA —  The Southeastern Conference announced agreements Monday with nine postseason bowl games and a new selection process for the bowl games.

Both the bowl agreements and selection process will take affect following the 2014 college football season, which coincides with the launch of the four-team College Football Playoff.


Allstate Sugar Bowl (New Orleans) — SEC Champion vs. Big 12 Champion

Discover Orange Bowl (Miami, Fla.) — SEC (in select years) vs. ACC Champion

Capital One Bowl (Orlando, Fla.) — SEC vs. Big Ten/ACC

Outback Bowl (Tampa Bay, Fla.) — SEC vs. Big Ten

Franklin American Mortgage Music City Bowl (Nashville, Tenn.) — SEC vs. Big Ten/ACC Gator Bowl (Jacksonville, Fla.) — SEC vs. Big Ten/ACC

Autozone Liberty Bowl (Memphis, Tenn.) — SEC vs. Big 12

Texas Bowl (Houston) — SEC vs. Big 12

Belk Bowl (Charlotte, N.C.) — SEC vs. ACC

Birmingham Bowl (Birmingham, Ala.) — SEC vs. TBA

Advocare V100 Bowl (Shreveport, La.) — SEC vs. ACC

Related Articles

Under the new system, the Capital One Bowl will have the first choice of SEC teams after any of the schools have qualified for the College Football Playoff, the Allstate Sugar Bowl or the Discover Orange Bowl. The SEC school chosen to compete in the Capital One Bowl would be matched up with a school from the Big Ten or the Atlantic Coast Conference.

“We are pleased to have established a lineup of premier bowl games that will give our student-athletes a wonderful postseason experience and our fans the opportunity to travel to venues in the geographical footprint of the conference,” SEC Commissioner Mike Slive said in a news release announcing the changes.

The conference has renewed its agreements with the Outback Bowl, the Franklin American Mortgage Music City Bowl, the Gator Bowl and the Autozone Liberty Bowl, while coming to new agreements with the Texas Bowl and the Belk Bowl. Those six bowls will be a part of a pool of games from which the conference will make the next series of bowl assignments.

Once assignments have been made to the pool of six bowls, the Birmingham Bowl and the Advocare V100 Bowl will have the final two selections of qualifying SEC schools.

“This bowl process gives us the best opportunity to address several issues that impact SEC fans, including the creation of intriguing matchups, the accommodation of travel for fans, reduced ticket obligations for our schools and a variety of assignments to help prevent repetitive postseason destinations,” Slive said in the release.

In all, the SEC will be playing postseason games in six different states. 

Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.