Missouri volleyball receives array of SEC honors

Monday, December 2, 2013 | 7:52 p.m. CST; updated 10:11 p.m. CST, Monday, December 2, 2013
Austin Peay's middle blocker Lauren Henderson faces off with senior Missouri setter Molly Kreklow at Hearnes Center on Oct. 8. Kreklow was named SEC player of the year on Monday.

COLUMBIA — Missouri volleyball was honored with three individual Southeastern Conference awards Monday.

Senior Molly Kreklow was named SEC Player of the Year; Carly Kan was named SEC Freshman of the Year; and head coach Wayne Kreklow was named SEC Coach of the Year. This is the first time a Tiger has won any of these awards for volleyball. 

"As a whole, I am just really happy for our kids today as I really feel like these honors are an accurate representation of what they have meant to our program all season long," Wayne Kreklow said in a news release. 

Wayne Kreklow guided Missouri to an undefeated regular season record of 34-0. Missouri went 18-0 in the SEC to win the conference title.

“It has just been such a special season, and I wouldn’t be accepting this award if I didn’t have such great teammates," Molly Kreklow said in anews release. "We have already lifted a trophy, but we aren’t done. I think the best is still yet to come for this group.”

Additionally, Kan and Molly Kreklow were named to the All-SEC team and were joined by teammates senior Lisa Henning and junior Whitney Little. This is the second year in a row Henning was named to the All-SEC team. 

Molly Kreklow finished the season ranked second nationally in assists per set and became just the second Tiger to reach 5,000 career assists. Kan was the only SEC player to average three kills per set and three points per set.

“Winning awards like this is easy when you have great examples to follow like Molly and Lisa," Kan said. "Every day they bring their best in practice and so much of this award is due to them."

Missouri hosts the first and second rounds of the NCAA tournament on Friday and Saturday. The Tigers' first match is scheduled at 6:30 p.m. Friday against an IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis) team with a 19-13 record. The winner of that match faces the winner of Purdue (20-11) and Central Arkansas (29-3) at 7:30 p.m. Saturday.

Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.