Third annual MU diversity awards recognize faculty, staff, students

Wednesday, March 12, 2014 | 4:44 p.m. CDT; updated 1:25 a.m. CDT, Thursday, March 13, 2014

COLUMBIA — Winners of the 2014 Inclusive Excellence Awards and Faculty Achievement Awards in Diversity were recognized Tuesday in Memorial Union's Stotler Lounge.

This is the third year the ceremony has been presented as part of the Chancellor's Diversity Initiative.

The ceremony presented six Inclusive Excellence Awards in five categories to people or groups who, in the past two years, have made outstanding contributions to the MU community in any area of diversity.

Three Faculty Achievement Awards in Diversity were presented to faculty members who exemplified teaching diversity in the classroom and across MU's campus.

More than 70 people or groups were nominated for the 2014 awards.

Each recipient of an Inclusive Excellence Award or a Faculty Achievement Award in Diversity received a glass award and a monetary prize. 

In her welcoming statement, Noor Azizan-Gardner, MU's chief diversity officer, thanked the Chancellor's Diversity Initiative team, the selection committee and the student ambassadors who were present. She introduced Deputy Chancellor Michael Middleton, who introduced the Inclusive Excellence Awards and presented them alongside Azizan-Gardner and Chancellor R. Bowen Loftin.

The Inclusive Excellence Award winners were:

  • Undergraduate category: Bridget Botchway Bradley, a senior in journalism.
  • Graduate category: Elizabeth Hunt, a master's student in educational and counseling psychology, and Jiangyun Zhu, a master's student in chemical engineering.
  • Faculty category: Kathleen Quinn, acting associate dean for rural programs and programs director of the Area Health Education Center in the MU School of Medicine.
  • Staff category: Robert Ross, coordinator of affinity relations for the Mizzou Alumni Association.
  • Group category: Community 360, a student organization at MU. Kyle Gillespie accepted the award on the group's behalf, dedicating it to the MU campus.

Cathy Scroggs, vice chancellor for student affairs, presented the Faculty Achievement Awards in Diversity to Chris Lee, assistant teaching professor of biochemistry; Mar Soria, assistant professor of Spanish; and Srirupa Prasad, assistant visiting professor of women's and gender studies and sociology.

Supervising editor is Elizabeth Brixey.

Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.