As filing deadline passes, field of candidates for Missouri House is set

Tuesday, March 25, 2014 | 9:46 p.m. CDT; updated 7:39 a.m. CDT, Friday, June 13, 2014

JEFFERSON CITY — Tuesday marked the deadline for candidates to file for inclusion on the Aug. 5 primary ballot, which means the field of candidates competing to represent Boone County in the Missouri House of Representatives has been set.

Although the lines snaked out the door of the Secretary of State's office when filing opened Feb. 25, there were still a few latecomers when the window closed a month later.

Here is a look at the races:

District 44
Current representative: Caleb Rowden, R-Columbia.
District boundaries: Northeast Boone County and the southeast corner of Randolph County.

As Rowden's first term as representative for Boone County's 44th district draws to a close, he will face Hallsville Alderman Tom Pauley, who is running unopposed in the Democratic primary.

Rowden took the Republican nomination in 2012 over three other candidates, then went on to edge out Democrat Ken Jacob in the general election.

District 45
Current representative: Chris Kelly, D-Columbia.
District boundaries: Downtown Columbia, including MU, Stephens College and Columbia College.

When Kelly decided not to run for his last eligible term in the House, political newcomer Kip Kendrick announced his interest in replacing him. After publicly announcing his plans last November, Kendrick was one of the first to file his candidacy for the Democratic primary. Kelly, who has served nine terms, has endorsed him. Kendrick has been a community activist, previously serving as the president of the Benton-Stephens Neighborhood Association. He is running unopposed.

District 46
Current representative: Stephen Webber, D-Columbia.
District boundaries: Mid and south Columbia, bordering just past Nifong Boulevard.

Webber lined up on the first day of filing to submit his candidacy for a fourth and final term, for which he will face no opposition. The Columbia resident was first elected to the House in 2008 when he ran unopposed. He has defended his seat twice, mostly recently in the 2012 general election when he trounced Republican Fred Berry by taking 65 percent of the vote.

District 47
Current representative: John Wright, D-Rocheport.
District boundaries: Northwest Boone County, northeast Cooper County, west Howard County and south Randolph County

Columbia's Betsy Phillips and Chuck Basye of Rocheport will face off in the Republican primary.

Phillips is president of the Boone County Pachyderm Club. Boone County's Democratic majority elected Wright to office in 2012, canceling Republican majorities in Cooper, Howard and Randolph counties that voted for Republican Mitch Richards.

District 50
Current representative: Caleb Jones, R-California.
District boundaries: South Boone County, north Cole and Moniteau counties, east Cooper County.

Jones filed for his third term, for which he will run unopposed for the second time. He first won his seat in 2010. Jones' father, Kenny Jones, was also a state representative.

Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.