UPDATE: Feds investigating Missouri S&T, 11 others about sex assault responses

Wednesday, July 2, 2014 | 7:16 p.m. CDT

BALTIMORE — The U.S. Department of Education has added 12 colleges and universities to its growing list of educational institutions being investigated for their handling of sexual abuse allegations.

The Missouri University of Science and Technology in Rolla is included in the dozen.

In May, the Department's Office for Civil Rights made public the names of 55 schools under investigation for possible violations of Title IX, which prohibits gender discrimination at institutions receiving federal funds. It pledged to update the log on a weekly basis. The most recent version of the list was published on Wednesday, and it now includes 67 schools.

The schools on the list range from small colleges to large universities, across 32 states. Also among the 12 newly added institutions are Morgan State University in Baltimore, the University of Delaware and Elmira College in Elmira, New York.

Some of the investigations came from complaints made to the department, while others were launched following compliance reviews.

The department has said just because a school is listed does not mean it has violated the law, only that it is under investigation. The list does not include any details about what prompted complaints.

At MUS&T in Rolla, Missouri, university spokesman Andrew Careaga declined to discuss details about the federal inquiry or any incidents that led to the probe, but he did say the Rolla school has vigorous efforts in place to combat deter and treat sexual assault.

Morgan State University spokesman Clinton Coleman said the complaint against the school, filed on June 26, was over sexual assault that occurred on campus during the 2014 spring semester. Coleman said the assault took place in February, but it was not reported until late March. The incident was referred to the Baltimore City Police Department, he said.

Morgan State University; University of Delaware, University of Richmond; and Elmira College acknowledged that they are cooperating with the Office of Civil Rights.

Other newly named schools include the University of Alaska System of Higher Education; Colorado State University in Fort Collins; Washburn University in Topeka, Kansas; Berklee College of Music in Boston; The University of Akron in Ohio; Cisco Junior College in Texas; and James Madison University in Harrisonburg, Virginia.



Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Ellis Smith July 3, 2014 | 7:57 a.m.

We've heard of "MS&T," but what is "MUS&T" and where might it be located? Possibly deeper in the Missouri Ozarks. :)

If UM System is actually handling such matters using a SYSTEM-WIDE BASIS it seems odd that one of the four campuses could be cited but not the other three. Please clarify.

Of course if there is no coordination...

(Report Comment)

Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.