Records fall at Tiger Classic

Sunday, February 1, 2004 | 12:00 a.m. CST; updated 10:08 a.m. CDT, Thursday, July 3, 2008

The athletes were safe from the cold indoors, but the records were safe from no one.

Six fieldhouse records and one Missouri school record were broken at the Tiger Classic in the Hearnes Center Fieldhouse on Friday. Missouri hosted national power Nebraska, Indiana and Wichita State in the unscored meet.

Missouri’s Holly Scherder broke teammate Ann Snider’s school record in the women’s weight throw with a toss of 60 feet, 5 1/4 inches. Scherder’s throw made her the first MU woman to throw farther than 60 feet.

Missouri coach Rick McGuire said he was impressed with the recent performances of his women’s weight throwers. “What Holly Scherder did tonight was big,” he said. “It’s just great seeing the two of them compete the last three weeks.”

Former Tiger Christian Cantwell, competing for Nike, joined the record breaking in the men’s shot put. His throw (69-0) is the longest throw in the world indoors this year, surpassing the mark he held at 68-3 3/4. Missouri junior Conrad Woolsey was the top collegian in the competition at 59-3 3/4.

Indiana set two fieldhouse records in the sprints. Ara Towns broke the record in the women’s 60-meter dash in a provisional qualifying 7.43, and Courtney Johnson broke the record in the women’s 60-meter hurdles in 8.53.

The Cornhuskers also broke three fieldhouse records. Jenny Green broke Jennifer Bennett’s mark in the women’s pole vault at 13-7 1/4, Becky Breisch in the women’s shot put (55-1 1/2), and former Cornhusker Krisztina Kovesi, competing unattached, broke the record in the women’s triple jump (42-3).

The Tigers would like to break a few more school and fieldhouse records.

“We’re looking to put some new names on that board,” junior Neville Miller said. “We’re starting to get some dust up there and we’ve got to get rid of that.”

Miller earned another come-from-behind victory in the 600-yard run in 1:12.78. Freshman Tipper O’Brien won the mile in 4:18.40 and Chris Horn won the long jump with his second personal best in two weeks at 23-1 3/4 .

Horn said his teammates played a big role in his victory.

“I knew I had to do it because I fouled on my first two jumps,” he said. “All my teammates got behind me with the clapping and I pulled it out on that last jump.”

The Tiger women earned their share of wins, too. Ashley Patten won the 800-meter run in 2:13.34, Allison Werner won the 1,000-meter run in 2:56.42 and Serena Ramsey won the mile with a personal best of 4:56.29. This was Ramsey’s second win in two weeks, coming after last week’s win in the 3,000 meters at the Missouri-Kansas-Kansas State Triangular.

McGuire said he thinks this is only the beginning for her.

“Serena Ramsey had a great night tonight, but she’s got better days ahead,” he said. “She’s not a miler. She’s a 5,000-meter cross country runner.”

Former Tiger Ann Marie Schwabe, competing for Nike, qualified for the USA Track and Field Indoor Championships with her victory in the 3,000 meters in 9:20.82.

Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.