Pinkel announces captains for 2004 season

Friday, April 9, 2004 | 12:00 a.m. CDT; updated 11:08 p.m. CDT, Saturday, July 12, 2008

The ballots have been cast for captains for the Tigers' 2004 football season. Coach Gary Pinkel announced Friday that teammates have chosen senior linebacker James Kinney, senior defensive lineman Atiyyah Ellision, senior tailback Beau Viehmann and junior quarterback Brad Smith.

Kinney returns for a third year as captain. Smith, listed on several pre-season Heisman Trophy watch lists, comes back for his second consecutive year as captain. First-time captain Ellison was a 3rd-team All-Big 12 conference selection in 2003. Viehmann was named MU's walk-on player of the year in 2003.

Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.