McCaskill rakes in contributions in month of July

Tuesday, July 27, 2004 | 12:00 a.m. CDT; updated 3:12 p.m. CDT, Wednesday, July 16, 2008

While State Auditor Claire McCaskill led gubernatorial hopefuls in money raised in the most recent reporting period, Gov. Bob Holden maintained the lead in total money and Secretary of State Matt Blunt has the most money on hand, according to campaign finance reports filed Monday.

The “Eight Day Before Election Report” was required of all candidates as the Aug. 3 primary elections approach.

Ken Jacob raised the most this period in the race for lieutenant governor. He earned more than twice as much this period as Bekki Cook, his fellow competitor for the Democratic nomination, but the difference between their current overall accounts is less than $350.

In the secretary of state race, though Democrat Robin Carnahan raised $20,000 more than probable November opponent Catherine Hanaway this period, the two are nearly tied in their present campaign holdings.

In the state treasurer race, Blaine Luetkemeyer more than doubled his overall receipts after receiving a loan for $224,000. He still trails fellow Republicans Will Pundmann and Sarah Steelman in money on hand.

The period in which contributions were tallied for the report was from July 1 to July 22.

Campaign finance reports

Despite the fact the reports were due Monday, not all figures for the candidates were available at press time. The figures were rounded to the nearest dollar.



Total receipts


candidatethis periodthis electionon hand


Bob Holden (D)$594,645$7,133,700$827,940
Jim LePage (D)$750$10,547$856
Claire McCaskill (D)$842,804$3,544,118$529,194
Matt Blunt (R)$235,934$4,543,045$2,601,769
Jeff Killian (R)N/AN/AN/A
Roy Lang (R)N/AN/AN/A
Karen Lee Dee
Skelton-Memhardt (R)N/AN/AN/A

Lieutenant governor

Bekki Cook (D)$51,302$494,161$2,457
Ken Jacob (D)$119,154$435,631$2,786
Peter Kinder (R)$19,825$490,599$221,913
Pat Secrest (R)$1,050$68,938$19,578
Mike Ferguson (L)N/AN/AN/A

Secretary of State

Robin Carnahan (D)$46,874$1,051,924$761,776
Catherine Hanaway (R)$22,955$1,004,806$764,565
Christopher Davis (L)N/AN/AN/A

State treasurer

Mark Abel (D)$11,050$177,325$5,388
Jason Klumb (D)$34,895$291,671$61,344
Mark Powell (D)$10,887$46,132$9,379
Tom Klein (R)$850$233,677$115,954
Blaine Luetkemeyer (R)$241,787$443,176$21,812
Will Pundmann (R)$127,875$441,775$422,755
Sarah Steelman (R)$6,925$521,305$216,689
Anita Yeckel (R)$54,620$184,677$25,520

Attorney general

Jay Nixon (D)$1,200$385,889$318,580
Chris Byrd (R)$4,075$69,026$4,720
Dewey Crepeau (R)N/AN/AN/A
David Browning (L)N/AN/AN/A

19th District state Senate

Tim Harlan (D)$5,710$150,762$26,307
Chuck Graham (D)$15,765$166,908$8,234
Michael Ditmore (R)N/AN/AN/A

9th District state House

Wes Shoemyer (D)N/AN/AN/A
Jeff Hedberg (R)$1,095$10,643$8,283

21st District state House

Lloyd Becker (D)$800$6,220$884
Steve Hobbs (R)N/AN/AN/A

23rd District state House

Jeff Harris (D)$5,625$63,221$0
Dan Fischbach (R)$199$914$720

24th District state House

Travis Ballenger (D)N/AN/AN/A
Greg Casey (D)$812$8,286$3,448
Carole Iles (R)$300$22,015$
Ed Robb (R)$14,347$21,457$13,768

25th District state House

Judy Baker (D)N/AN/AN/A
Mike Blum (D)$2,745$2,745$758
Russell Breyfogle Jr. (D)$1,275$4,364$816
D. Duane Dimmitt (D)$400$4,922$1,737
Lara Underwood (D)$900$4,597$70
Joel Jeffries (R)$3,497$76,701$49,066

Southern District Boone County commissioner

Karen Miller (D)$800$12,906$15,944

Northern District Boone County commissioner

Skip Elkin (D)
Jerry Carrington (R)$0$1,497$523

Boone County sheriff

Dwayne Carey (D)$3,960$57,174$5,377
Ken Kreigh (D)$5,040$66,546$6,319
O.J. Stone (D)$1,715$9,797$6,299
Mick Covington (R)$2,778$45,022$4,138

Boone County treasurer

Kay Murray (D)$1,255$1,475$805
Fred Evermon (R)$25$348$166

Boone County public administrator

Connie Bell Hendren (D)N/AN/AN/A
Larry Fowler (D)N/AN/AN/A
John Sullivan (R)$180$180$0

These candidates filed exemptions because they did not expect to receive more than $500 in contributions nor spend $500 in expenditures:

Governor: Martin Lindstedt (R), Jen Sievers (R), Randy Langkraehr (L), John Swenson (L); State treasurer: Chet Boeke (R), Al Hanson (R); Southern District Boone County commissioner: Mike Asmus (R)

— Compiled by Missourian staff

Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.