Porter wins leadership award

Dean of MU School of Nursing spearheaded academic developments
Friday, September 24, 2004 | 12:00 a.m. CDT; updated 4:14 p.m. CDT, Tuesday, July 22, 2008

On Monday, Rosemary T. Porter, dean of the MU Sinclair School of Nursing, will become the second recipient of the University of Missouri system’s Manuel T. Pacheco Leadership Award. The award recognizes outstanding academic leadership across the UM system. Key members of MU’s Leadership Development program nominate candidates for the award from all four UM campuses. An advisory committee then makes the official selection.

In her five years as dean, Porter has pioneered several innovations in the school including the Tiger Place senior facility, online courses, accelerated academic programs for students with degrees and new models of nursing care. The award will be given Monday at the Leadership Development Program’s dinner.

Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.