Distance runners well represented

Wednesday, March 9, 2005 | 12:00 a.m. CST; updated 5:14 a.m. CDT, Thursday, July 17, 2008

Ten members of the MU track and field team will participate in the NCAA Indoor Championships on Friday and Saturday after being accepted by the NCAA Track and Field Committee on Tuesday. Representing MU will be the men’s and women’s distance medley teams, shot putter Conrad Woolsey, heptathlete Hans Uldal and 800-meter runner Ashley Patten.

Jimmie Jones, Neville Miller, Marcus Mayes and Ryan Hampton constitute the men’s distance medley team. Patten, Whitney Stuart, Trisa Nickoley and Amanda Bales are on the women’s distance team.

The committee originally mistakenly accepted Nickoley into the 800-meter run, but she would have made an extra heat necessary in the event, and coach Rick McGuire was informed Tuesday she could not participate. The committee took the same action with an athlete from South Carolina and one from Auburn.

The championships are held in Fayetteville, Ark.

MU GOLF: Missouri finished in ninth place in the rain-shortened Louisiana Classics in Lafayette, La. The event was reduced to two rounds after the original second round was rained out on Monday.

Junior Ben Scott was tied for the lead after the first round, but he shot an 81 to finish with a total of 149 and a tie for 26th place.

Junior Chris Mabry led the Tigers with a 15th-place finish and a score of 147. John Kelly shot a 150, Michael Unger had a 155, and Beau Crawford shot 159.

The Tigers play again in California beginning March 21.

MU GYMNASTICS: Senior Alisha Robinson was named Big 12 Gymnast of the week for her efforts from March 1-7.

Robinson won the award for the second time this season and fourth time in her career.

HICKMAN FOOTBALL: The state champion Hickman Kewpies will be honored at the State Capitol today by state Sen. Chuck Graham. Hickman’s Tim Cornell and Tony Pescaglia will also be honored for their state titles in cross country and wrestling, respectively. The athletes will be introduced on the House floor, followed by similar introductions in the Senate. The introductions will follow a reception in the third-floor Capitol Rotunda at 9:30 a.m.

Big 12 coach of the year: Texas A&M’s Billy Gillispie was named the AP’s Big 12 coach of the year for leading the Aggies turnaround from a winless conference record last season to a contender for an NCAA berth this season.

NFL: Kendrell Bell signed with the Kansas City Chiefs, and Fred Smoot agreed to a deal with the Minnesota Vikings as two of the NFL’s worst defenses plugged holes through free agency.

Smoot had 16 interceptions in five seasons with Washington. Bell, the former Pittsburgh linebacker, was AP Defensive Rookie of the Year in 2001.

Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.