A look at ballots from across the county

Wednesday, April 6, 2005 | 12:00 a.m. CDT; updated 7:46 p.m. CDT, Friday, July 18, 2008

Here’s a look at town council and school board races, along with other issues, on Tuesday’s ballots in Boone County.


Board of aldermen: David Thomas won a two-year term as Ward One alderman with 30 votes. Delores A. Fisher was a write-in candidate receiving three votes. In Ward Two, John Sutherland won a two-year term with 41 votes over Jim Fasciotti’s 30. Also, Carl Long won a two-year seat as Ward Three alderman with 60 votes. Kristopher Dolle received 52 votes.

Southern Boone County R-1 school board: Jesse Richardson, Edward Bartel and Bridget Canaday won three-year seats with 351, 339, and 320 votes, respectively. Edward Musterman had 257 votes.


Board of aldermen: Jerry Parmeley won a two-year term as mayor with 496 votes to William Wayne Ferrell II’s 80. Ronald Duran, who ran unopposed, won a two-year term as Ward One alderman. Thomas Fair, also unopposed, won a two-year term as Ward Two alderman. Tom Grenke won a two-year term as Ward Three alderman by earning 19 write-in votes. Jessica Orsini had six, Chris Roberts two, and Mike Brock, Bob Hortel, Denny Rusch, Bob Wyatt and Randy McDowell one each.

City collector: Kathy Colvin, who ran unopposed, won another two-year term. Centralia voters also rejected the idea of filling the collector’s office by appointment; 453 opposed the question while 130 people favored it.

Boone County R-VI school board: Mary Peeper, Denny Rusch and Justin Romine won three-year seats on the board with 442, 393, and 384 votes, respectively. Dennis Whitaker, Nathan Chitwood, Donald F. Collins, Jr. and Steve Lescanec had 326, 274, 255 and 112 votes, respectively.


Board of aldermen: Jane Alexander ran unopposed and won a one-year term as Ward One alderwoman with 91 votes. Thomas Pauley and Steve Smith tied with 14 votes each in the election for a two-year term representing Ward One. Glenda Nichols, who ran unopposed, won a two-year term in Ward Two with 68 votes.

Municipal judge: Lee Koury ran unopposed and won a two-year term with 157 votes.

Hallsville R-IV school board: Danny Hardin, Michael Crabtree and John Berkbuegler won with 540, 472, 463 votes, respectively.

Hallsville R-IV bond issue: School district voters also decided to authorize a $2.95 million bond issue to pay for a new elementary school plus remodeling and repair projects on other buildings. The bond passed with 647 votes for and 218 votes against.


Board of trustees: Jeff Arp, Dene Lehnen and Beverly Brown, who was chosen by write-in, all won three-year terms with 19, 16, and 10 votes, respectively.

Harrisburg R-VIII school board: Vonna Foley, Sean Cochran, and Elaina Priddy all won three-year seats on the board with 129, 124, and 116 votes, respectively, while Sandy Mueller had 99 votes.


Board of trustees: Four one-year seats were awarded to Robert Tyler, Laura Kays, Nancy Grant and Jeanette Crawford, with 34, 33, 31 and 16 votes, respectively. Brian Bauer won the fifth seat by write-in with 11 votes.

Southern Boone County R-I school board: See Ashland.


Board of trustees: John Schroeder, Gerald Leaton, and James Caldwell all won two-year terms on the board, with four, four, and three votes, respectively.


Board of aldermen: Brett Dufur won a two-year term as mayor with 60 votes, while Helen Easley had 37. Jeff Raaz, who ran unopposed, won a two-year-term as Ward One alderman with 38 votes. Debbie Lynch won a two-year term as Ward Two alderwoman with 38. Francis L. Turner had 16 votes.

New Franklin R-I school board: Todd Hill, Denise Waller and Joe Chitwood won three-year seats on the board with 45, 45, and 38 votes, respectively. Jim Hull had 27 votes.


Board of aldermen: Write-in candidate Alicia Walker won a two-year term as mayor with 104 votes. Michael Butler, who appeared on the ballot, had 75. Two other write-in candidates, Roger Craghead and Alicia Ward had 13 votes and one vote, respectively. Andrew Perkins won a two-year term as Ward One (West) alderman with 83 votes. Donna Puga had 18. Raymond Cranmer ran unopposed and won a two-year term as Ward Two (East) alderman with 84 votes. Paul Heywood won a one-year term as Ward Two (East) Alderman with 87.

Boone County R-V school board: Incumbents Brian Pollard and Darrin Kelly won three-year seats along with Doug Browne with 255, 209 and 187 votes respectively. Melinda Taft had 134, Thomas Monroe 59, Warren Henderson 33 and Clarence Hoskins 24.


Voters in several north and northeast Boone County precincts chose Larry Daly to serve a two-year term as director of Sub-district Two with 459. Jon Johnson had 202 votes.

Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.