Campus Honors

Monday, April 25, 2005 | 12:00 a.m. CDT; updated 3:37 p.m. CDT, Sunday, July 20, 2008

Nursing fellowship

A $100,000 endowed faculty fellowship in medical and surgical nursing has been established at MU’s Sinclair School of Nursing.

Steve and Sally Alberty Richardson established the Sally Alberty Richardson Faculty Fellowship in Medical/Surgical Nursing to support faculty, with a focus on ensuring student success.

Steve Richardson is a 1977 graduate of MU’s College of Business, and Sally Alberty Richardson is a 1978 graduate of the nursing school.

“I’ve gone through life thinking my wife has made a much greater contribution to the world than I and ought to be recognized,” Steve Richardson said in a news release.

“I wanted this gift to honor her and the college from which she graduated.”

Who’s Who

Dan Longo, professor of family and community medicine at MU, has been named to Who’s Who in Medicine and Health Care for the 2004-05 edition.

Longo’s research interests include consumer health behavior, health system changes and quality of care.

Wellness awards

At its annual awards ceremony April 14, the MU Wellness Resource Center recognized people and organizations from the university and the community who encourage students to make responsible decisions.

Recipients included: MU’s Institute of Public Policy in the Truman School of Public Affairs; Lance Morrow, owner of Willie’s Pub and Pool, The Field House and Lee Street Deli; MU Rec Services and Facilities; Mark Lucas, director of student life; and Bill Alton of the Missouri Division of Alcohol and Tobacco Control.

The Wellness Center also recognized Officer Curtis Perkins of the Columbia Police Department for his work in prevention of impaired driving.

Film festival

Kerri Yost, assistant professor in the mass media department at Stephens College, participated in the International Justice Symposium and Human Rights Watch Film Festival on April 5 at Central Missouri State University.

Yost gave a lecture titled “Consciously Focused on Film,” about social issues and documentaries.

Maude Adams Award

Actress Patricia Barry, an alumna of Stephens College, has been awarded the Maude Adams Award. Barry’s television appearances include roles on “Gunsmoke” and “Perry Mason” and soap operas “Loving” and “Days of Our Lives.”

Barry is the fifth and final recipient of the award. It is bestowed on renowned actresses representing the values and ideals of Adams, who was a drama professor at Stephens from 1937 to 1950.

Other recipients were Agnes Moorehead, Helen Hayes, Julie Harris and Lynn Redgrave.

Dictionaries donated

Columbia College Kappa Delta Pi students donated 50 dictionaries to fifth-graders at Field Elementary School on April 20.

Journalism professor

John Merrill, professor emeritus of MU’s School of Journalism, has been elected to the University of Iowa School of Journalism’s Hall of Fame.

Telly Awards

The MU Sinclair School of Nursing is a finalist for the 25th annual Telly Awards.

The school received the bronze award in the fund-raising category for its video “100 Years of Mizzou Nursing.”

Winners and finalists in 188 categories were selected from more than 10,000 entries worldwide.

The Telly Awards honor outstanding local, regional and cable TV commercials and programs as well as video and film productions.

Wall of Fame

The Geological Sciences Department at MU has created a “wall of fame” in the Geological Sciences Building to recognize outstanding alumni. Eight plaques were scheduled to be unveiled Friday.

Award recipients for 2005 are: John H. Marshall Jr., honorary life member of the Geology Development Board; Hugh Looney, honorary member of the Geology Development Board (posthumously awarded); B. Ray Holifield, MU distinguished alumnus; Herman Ponder, MU distinguished alumnus; Mike Bahorich, Geoscience Society president; Richard Bishop, Geoscience Society president; M. Ray Thomasson, Geoscience Society president.

Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.