Missourian wins 36 awards in state contest

Sunday, September 17, 2006 | 12:00 a.m. CDT; updated 4:25 p.m. CDT, Wednesday, July 2, 2008

The Columbia Missourian garnered 36 awards Saturday as the Missouri Press Association announced the winners of this year’s Better Newspaper Contest in Lake Ozark at its annual convention.

Newspapers of various circulations — from the smallest, Class 1, to the largest, Class 4 — entered categories including best news or feature series, best headline writing and best sports photo.

The Missourian won a general excellence award for the past four years, indicating it is “doing well all around,” said Executive Editor Tom Warhover. The Missourian won a total of 18 awards in 2004 and 27 in 2005, he said.

“We’ve improved, year after year, and that’s another gratifying thing to me,” Warhover said. “The awards are just a nice bonus.”

The Liberty Tribune, located in Liberty just north of Kansas City, won the Gold Cup for the weekly newspaper category. The Gold Cup is the most esteemed award at the convention, said Angie Anaya Borgedalen, the Liberty Tribune’s editor. It is awarded to the newspaper that receives the most points in a variety of categories.

Borgedalen has worked at the Tribune for 30 years. She said she was pleased to receive the award.

Borgedalen said the Liberty Tribune is distinct from other Missouri newspapers because it was started in 1846, making it one of the oldest publications west of the Mississippi River still in circulation.

“It has a very long history with its community,” she said.

The Liberty Tribune won 26 awards at the convention. Eleven were first honors in several categories, including general excellence, business content, best front page, best page design, best editorial page and best rural story.

The Kansas City Star was awarded the Gold Cup for daily newspapers.

The Missourian’s MPA awards are:

1st, Best News Content, Class 1

1st, Best Newspaper Design, Class 1

1st, Best Photo Package, Class 1

1st, General Excellence, Class 2

1st, Best Feature Photograph: Aaron Eisenhauer, Class 1

1st, Best Story About Religion: Cristian Lupsa

1st, Best Investigative Reporting: Dusty Luthy, Class 1

1st, Best Sports Feature Story: Dugan Arnett, Class 1

1st, Best Feature Story: Erin Richards, Class 1

1st, Best Business Story: Jacob Luecke, Class 1

1st, Best Rural Life/Agriculture Story: Stephen Nellis, Class 1

1st, Best Sports News Story or Package, Class 1

1st, Best Sports Page, Class 1

2nd, Best Photo Illustration: Aaron Eisenhauer, Class 1

2nd, Best Sports Feature Story: Angela Busch, Class 1

2nd, Best Business Story: Jack Beeson & Adam Wisneski, Class 1

2nd, Best Feature Story: Shane Epping, Class 1

2nd, Best Editorial Page, Class 1

2nd, Best Special Section, Class 1

3rd, Best Front Page, Class 1

3rd, Best Business Story: Abraham Mahshie, Class 1

3rd, Best Story About Education: Amber Wilson, Class 1

3rd, Best Feature Story: Dugan Arnett, Class 1

3rd, Best Rural Life/Agriculture Story: Jonathan Rivoli, Class 1

3rd, Best Story About Religion: Leah Lohse

3rd, Best Sports Feature Story: Sam McDowell, Class 1

3rd, Best News Story: Stephanie DeMello, Jennifer Price, Class 1

Honorable Mention, Best Ad Idea or Promotions for the Newspaper

Honorable Mention, Best Rural Life/Agriculture Story: Abraham Mahshie, Class 1

Honorable Mention, Best Story About the Outdoors: Bente Birkeland, Catherine Rentz Pernot

Honorable Mention, Best Story About History: Brenden Clawson

Honorable Mention, Best Information Graphics: Darren Breen

Honorable Mention, Best Business Story: Emem Offong, Class 1

Honorable Mention, Best Coverage of Young People

Honorable Mention, Best Page Design

Honorable Mention, Best Special Section, Class 1

— Compiled by Nate Birt

Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.