Maneater scores Pacemaker Award at college media conference

Monday, October 29, 2007 | 8:00 p.m. CDT; updated 7:05 a.m. CDT, Saturday, July 19, 2008

The Maneater, MU’s student newspaper, has received the National Pacemaker Award from the Associate Collegiate Press.

The award is the most prestigious in college journalism, according to a news release.

“It is like the Pulitzer for college journalism,” said Steve Oslica, current editor-in-chief of The Maneater.

The National Pacemaker Award is based of the paper’s work during the 2006-07 school year. The award was given to 21 student newspapers across the country and has been given each year since 1927.

The Maneater also won the ACP Best of Show award in the nondaily tabloid category.

The awards were given at the Associate Collegiate Press fall conference in Washington, D.C., this past weekend. Five Maneater staff members attended.

“(The award) shows that we were able to produce quality issues throughout the year,” said Lee Logan, 2006-07 editor-in-chief and current staff member at The Columbia Missourian. “The staff has a lot to be proud of.”

Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.