Ten things you didn't know about the Cotton Bowl

Friday, December 28, 2007 | 12:56 a.m. CST; updated 10:57 p.m. CDT, Monday, July 21, 2008

10. The Cotton Bowl began in 1937 when Texas Christian beat Marquette 16-6. After Dallas entrepreneur J. Curtis Sanford attended the 1936 Rose Bowl he decided Dallas needed a New Year’s bowl game. A wealthy oilman, Sanford financed the game himself.

9. First named Fair Park Stadium, the Cotton Bowl was renamed in 1936 because more cotton was raised within 200 miles of Dallas than any other town in America. Cotton is usually associated with Southern states, but during that era, Dallas was regarded as one of the largest cotton markets in the world.

8. Missouri is making its second appearance in the Cotton Bowl. The Tigers lost to Texas in the 1946 game. The Longhorns own the record with 22 appearances. Texas A&M is second at 11, and Arkansas, MU’s opponent, has 10.

7. As hard as it was to get tickets to this year’s game, they were even more scarce when the Cotton Bowl began. The stadium originally seated 46,200 but was expanded to 67,431 when the west side upper deck was added after the 1948 game. Construction continued on the east side the next year, increasing capacity to 75,504. Today the Cotton Bowl has a capacity of 70,252.

6. Two Heisman finalists, MU quarterback Chase Daniel and Arkansas running back Darren McFadden, highlight this year’s Cotton Bowl, but the game is no stranger to the prize. Heisman winners Doak Walker, Roger Staubach, Earl Campbell, Dough Flutie, Bo Jackson, Tim Brown and Ricky Williams all played in the Cotton Bowl.

5. Missouri fans hoping to watch the Cotton Bowl might want to avoid the champagne on New Year’s Eve. Fox begins its telecast at 10:30 a.m. on New Year’s Day. Traditionally a morning game, the Cotton Bowl’s earliest start was in 2006 when Texas Tech and Alabama kicked off at 10:08 a.m.

4. Before becoming owner of the Dallas Cowboys, Jerry Jones played in the Cotton Bowl as an offensive lineman for Arkansas. Jones won the national title with the Razorbacks in 1965 and is the only NFL owner to play in a bowl game.

3. Jones isn’t the most powerful man connected to the Cotton Bowl. That distinction belongs to President George W. Bush, who served on the Cotton Bowl Athletic Association Board of Directors from 1992-93.

2. Missouri will play in one of the last Cotton Bowls at its current site. On Feb. 27 the CBAA voted to move the game to the Dallas Cowboys’ stadium in Arlington. The change will take place in 2010.

1. Dr. George I. Bennett, a blind man and a practicing Dallas chiropractor, purchased the first Cotton Bowl tickets 16 days before the inaugural game in 1937. The tickets? Two seats on the 50-yard line.

Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.