McCollum wins county collector seat in close victory

The 13-year veteran of the collector's office will succeed his boss, Pat Lensmeyer.

North Dakota voters reject 'right-to-life' amendment

The measure would have guaranteed the protection and recognition of "every human being at every stage of development."

UPDATE: Medical marijuana initiative narrowly defeated in Florida, recreational marijuana legalized in Oregon

Legalization advocates had high hopes of Florida permitting medical marijuana, but voters' support for the amendment flamed out short of the necessary 60 percent of votes to pass. However in Oregon, the state has become the third in the nation to legalize recreational marijuana usage.

U.S. Rep. Cleaver re-elected to western Missouri seat

Rep. Emanuel Cleaver, D-Mo., defeated Republican Jacob Turk and Libertarian Roy Welborn to gain re-election.

UPDATE: Governors: Wisconsin's Walker bests Democrat Burke

Wisconsin Republican Gov. Scott Walker won re-relection over Democratic challenger May Burke. In another hotly-contested governor's race, Florida GOP Gov. Rick Scott also held on to his office.


Rep. Blaine Luetkemeyer re-elected in Missouri's 3rd Congressional District

The Republican defeated Democrat Courtney Denton and Libertarian Steven Hedrick for the 3rd Congressional District, which stretches from the outer St. Louis suburbs to Jefferson City.

UPDATE: GOP wins Senate control, ready to confront Obama

Republicans have not controlled the Senate for eight years. Though gaining control is a political victory for them, the impact on governing is unclear.

Up-to-date results of top state races

Here are the results for Missouri's four proposed amendments and the state auditor's race.

Rep. Smith wins southeast Missouri election

Republican U.S. Rep Jason Smith will serve his first full term. Previously, he succeeded Republican Rep. Jo Ann Emerson, who resigned.

UPDATE: Cynicism, anger, optimism in play on Election Day

More than 18.6 million Americans in 32 states voted early — either by mail or at early polling places. And millions more had their say in another way — by sitting this election out.

Rep. Graves re-elected in northern Missouri

Rep. Graves, R-Mo., won his 8th term in the U.S. House.

Missourians vote down teacher evaluation proposal, pass child sex abuse evidence law, reject early voting, approve limiting governor's budget powers

The amendment would have linked teacher evaluations to student performance and limited tenure protections.

Community policing more complicated than a larger force

Proposition 1 asks voters to support a larger police force and more firefighters through an increase in property taxes. But some experts say it's hard to know if more officers would improve community policing.

Party leaders clash over Obama as election nears

While the elections will determine winners in all 435 House districts and in 36 governors' seats, the national focus is largely on the Senate, where Republicans need to net six seats to control the majority in the Congress that convenes in January.

Whitworth brings background in mediation to race for Division 5 judge

The Republican candidate for associate court judge is a lawyer, musician and family man. With extensive experience in family law mediation, Whitworth says he wants to be on the bench to help people through a fair process.

Kim Shaw makes second run for Division 5 judge

The Democrat with 25 years of law experience is vying for the seat being vacated by Larry Bryson.

Proposition 1 would provide money for 15 firefighters

Revenue generated from the proposed property tax increase would enable the department to better staff Station 2 and a new Station 10.

Legislative candidates discuss lobbyist gifts, campaign contributions

Missouri is the only state in the country that has no limits on how much people can contribute to political campaigns or how much lobbyists can give public officials.

Incumbent state auditor faces challenges from two third-party candidates

Incumbent auditor Tom Schweich is seeking another four-year term, but Libertarian candidate Sean O'Toole and Constitution Party candidate Rodney Farthing want his office.

McCollum cites office experience in election for Boone County collector

Democrat Brian McCollum has worked in the collector's office for more than 13 years and hopes to succeed his boss, Pat Lensmeyer, who is retiring.