Representatives of the Federal Emergency Management Agency soon will be visiting the 20 counties included in President Donald Trump's disaster declaration to assess damage and help those affected by flooding and other severe weather register for assistance.

The Disaster Survivor Assistance Teams will identify and address immediate and emerging needs. They also will provide application materials and referrals to community resources for those who need them, according to a Friday news release.

Boone, Chariton, Cole, Osage, Lafayette and Pulaski counties in central Missouri were included in the disaster declaration.

Residents affected by flooding, tornadoes or other severe weather might be eligible for assistance in making temporary repairs to houses . Funding will pay for short-term living arrangements while permanent repairs are made or help with disaster-related needs not covered by other programs.

FEMA said in the release that its team members will carry photo IDs. Residents should ask for official photo identification before providing personal information to anyone.

Housing inspectors contracted by FEMA also will be visiting disaster-zone counties to inspect damage suffered by those already registered for aid. These inspectors also will present photo IDs to confirm their association with the agency.

Recommended for you

Join the conversation

When posting comments, please follow our community guidelines:
• Login with a social account on WorldTable.
• Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language or engage in personal attacks.
• Stay on topic. Don’t hijack a forum to talk about something else or to post spam.
• Abuse of the community could result in being banned.
• Comments on our website and social media may be published in our newspaper or on our website.